Readathon Prep: Dewey 24 Hour Readathon

In a previous life I also had a book blog. My reviews were worse. My content was a lot more meme worthy. It wasn’t the type of blog run by a librarian with a mission, but a college student with a love of books and a confused life path. I have fond memories of those times. I read great books and found my voice. I learned about ARCS and the bookish community. 

I learned about readathons.

Specifically, I participated in the Dewey Readathon, starting in 2010. I didn’t know what to expect. It wasn’t an easy time but I was young and there was coffee and short stories and Harry Potter. There were blogs to read when hands go tired of holding a physical book. There was a huge community of readers doing the same thing, sharing their reading experience, and sending out love into the world.

It has been a few years since I have been able to fully participate in a Dewey Readathon and I am very much looking forward to jumping back this weekend.  I don’t participate in a lot of other big community reading events. I don’t love the week long readathons that feel more like marathons than short sprints. 24 in 48 takes up too much of my weekend. I can commit to a day. I can make that day about me. I can meet new readers and follow their journeys while having my own. It is fantastic.

It is also a very long time to read. So, as someone who has done this through many different stages of life (college student, under-employed post drag, sad post break-up girl, and now bookish professional) I want to share some of my tips, my reading list, and some general life advice.

1.The Books Make the Readathon

Now is not the time to make your way through War & Peace. Pick short reads. I am a big fan of collections of short stories, novels under 350 pages, and novellas. I can intersperse short stories into reading breaks from other books, or just enjoy several short adventures with a ton of different characters. The point is you don’t want a Tome. You’ll get bored, overwhelmed, tired, and need a change of scenery. Prepare for this. You’ll feel much better when you’ve finished a handful of books instead of most of a door stopper. 

My reading list for this weekend will include:
Practical Magic
Commonwealth
Jane
Friday Black
Yellow House

The Shadow of Night

I won’t make it through all of them, but I’ll enjoy what I finish, and accept everything still on my TBR.

2. Embrace Audiobooks (and Bookish Podcasts!)

At some point you will have to get up. You’ll make dinner, or need to go to the gym. You’ll need to stretch your legs and rest your eyes. Your family will miss you and want to see your face. This is prime time to pull out an audiobook. 

I personally love audiobooks, but they are ideal for readathons too. I can still feel like I’m participating while checking the #readathon tags on twitter and instagram. I can make myself a snack or take a shower. I can take a walk to get some fresh air. All the while I am still making progress into my TBR pile. I’m still immersed in my books. 

In my life before audiobooks I would listen to bookriot podcasts. Listening to people talk about books is audiobook adjacent, and it still encompasses the spirit of the event. I have about 8 Hours left of Shadow of Night and I am sure I will get a couple hours of listening in sometime Saturday. 

3. Snacks are Everything.

Treat. Yo. Self.

The Dewey Readathon happens twice a  year. That means there are 2 times in a year I feel justified in buying sno-caps to throw in my popcorn, reeses cups, cookies, really just everything I love. I usually order carry out and get my absolute favorite shish tawook with all of the pita and veggies and garlic my heart can handle. 

This year I am dieting (boo!) and preparing by making sure I have some tasty yogurt, homemade pumpkin spice granola – which you’ll see on the blog Friday, veggies, and all of the components to make my favorite carry out dish at home for half the calories. I’ll still splurge on popcorn. Maybe I’ll make my tea extra sweet. It’ll still be a treat for me.

Treats are important. Don’t let yourself get over hungry. Caffeine is super important for a 24 hour stretch, and filling snacks will help keep your mind from wandering. Also this day is for you. Get the food you like. Cherish it. Enjoy.

4. Warn Your Loves

My boyfriend has been warned about Readathon weekend every few days for the last week. I have told him he is free to make plans, but I will not be joining. He can talk to me, but I will be reading and may not answer. If he really wants me he should bring me snacks. That will get my attention.

I also told my parents, my friends, everyone that contacts me on the regular. I am not available on Saturday. I don’t care if they don’t understand. It is a great lesson in saying no to people. This no is self care. The day is for me. 

Warning people makes the day easier on you. I promise this is true. 

Lastly, some advice: 

Readathon, like life, is not a competition. If you can’t clear your day and can only manage a few disjointed hours, congrats, you participated. If you fall asleep at midnight you still read until then. If your family needs you, there is an emergency, or you just plain don’t feel like spending most of your weekend glued to a book that’s fine. 

The point is to have fun. Enjoy your readathon experience. I don’t care if someone else reads 12 books and I don’t make it through 1. There is no winning in comparing your experience to others. Just breathe, read, and move on. 

If any of you are reading, good luck. For those of you who may have participated before let me know if you think I missed any major tips!

2 thoughts on “Readathon Prep: Dewey 24 Hour Readathon

  1. Love this! I’ve never done a readathon but I’ve been thinking one might be just what I need to catch up on my reading challenge for this year. Thanks for sharing your advice and expertise!

    Like

Leave a comment